Aarava

by 

on 

May 20, 2014

Welcome to our second Community Spotlight – a new series here on the blog, that basically showcases all of the awesome things you do with our games. This week it’s time shine the spotlight on our incredible YouTube community and one of our favourite content creators; Aarava.

Aarava began to make a name for himself amongst the YouTube crowd in 2012 with an insightful and entertaining look into our games and the world of Formula 1. Now he’s sitting on over a million views and over 7,000 dedicated subscribers.

We popped a few questions over to Aarava last week to hear what he had to say about his two years as an F1 content creator.

vrl

How long have you been creating YouTube videos?

I have been making videos for about 2 years now. I first started uploading videos recorded with a camera facing a TV around May in 2012.

After doing this on and off up until September (with F1 2011 being the subject) as soon as F1 2012 came out, I made a decision to try and make this a serious hobby that I would put time and real worth wild effort into. And so far, I love it and it’s paying off with a healthy subscriber base and potential to grow even more.

So what made you start running your own channel?
I was really into the usual big YouTube channels at the time of starting my channel. People like Syndicate and KSI come to mind. But as I searched YouTube for F1 2012 news, I stumbled upon a few F1 gaming channels, the biggest being IntoTheBarrier, which I am sure most in the community have heard of. And after watching these sorts of videos, I just thought to myself, “I like F1, I think I am pretty above average at the game, why not try to make videos and see if people enjoy them”, and I guess, that was it, the idea was to try and entertain people in some way or another.

When did you get into F1 and our games?