Fun From The First Ever Formula 1® Esports Series Semi-Final



October 17, 2017

Unless you’ve been hiding under a rock this last week,  you’ll have seen the first ever Formula 1® Esports Series Semi-Finals live on, Twitch, Facebook and Sky Sports F1. What an amazing evening it was – we can’t state just how much fun it was watching the best F1 Esports drivers battling it out for a place in the finals on F1™ 2017. If you were unable to watch the semi-finals live, you can catch up on the highlights here:

Watch F1 Esports – 2017 Semi Finals Highlights from F1Esports on

You can also check out how it all unfolded on the night with our Twitter Moment:

We had 40 of the best F1 Esports drivers battling it out in a packed out Gfinty Arena in London, overseen by British comedian and presenter, Tom Deacon, who compered the night. Getting to the semi-finals was an achievement in itself: a total of 63,827 players took part in the qualifying stages, completing 976,870 laps. Over 195,000 race times were posted on the official leaderboards on Over eight races – four on Interlagos and four on Silverstone – the 40 were whittled down to 20, who’ll be heading to the final in Abu Dhabi.

We cannot tell you just how incredible each race was – such a showcase of talent from the semi-finalists – which was deftly navigated through by an equally fantastic commentary team of Davide Valsecchi, Jack Nicholls, Matt Gallagher and Karun Chandhok.

At the final in Abu Dhabi, the first Formula 1 Esports Series Champion will be crowned on the same weekend as the final 2017 Formula 1 Grand Prix. The winner will be named the Formula 1 Esports Champion Expert for 2018 and will automatically qualify for the semifinals of next year’s F1 Esports Series. The winner is one of these finalists… we can’t wait to see who the first Formula 1 Esports Series Champion will be!

Name Country Points
Brendon Leigh Great Britain 50
Allert Vanderwal Netherlands 50
Sonuc Saltunc Great Britain 50
Patrik Holzmann Germany 50
Sven Zürner Germany 36
Nicolò Fioroni Italy 33
Cedric Thome Germany 33
Cem Bölükbasi Turkey 33
Fredrik Rasmussen Denmark 30
Igor Fraga Brazil 30
Joni Törmälä Finland 30
Tiziano Brioni Italy 27
Patryk Krutyj Poland 25
Gianfranco Giglioli Italy/Venezuela 25
Alberto Foltran Italy 22
Mads Soerensen Denmark 22
Harrison Jacks Great Britain 21
Fabrizio Donoso Delgado Chile 18
Salih Saltunc Great Britain 18
Maximilian Benecke Germany 14


We’ve selected a few of our favourite photos from the night to share with you. Check them out below for a peek of some of the action:

dsc_2047 dsc_2057 dsc_2081 dsc_2107 dsc_2160 dsc_2203 dsc_2224

  • Share

About Jenny

Social Media Manager for the F1 games. Loves F1 and PC gaming far too much to be healthy.

View all posts by Jenny

You might also like