Crowning the 2018 F1® New Balance Esports Champion



November 25, 2018

The F1® Esports Series started in April, with four qualifying events. Twelve qualifying races, one Pro Draft and ten F1® New Balance Esports Pro Series races later – and we have our 2018 driver and team champions.

If you missed all the incredible racing action from the final, you can catch up on whole thing right here – don’t worry, we won’t spoil it for you just yet!

The final compromised of four races – Hockenheim, Marina Bay, Circuit of the Americas and Abu Ahabi – two on the Friday, two on Saturday. It was Sauber F1 Esports Team’s Salih Saltunc who took a commanding lights-to-flag win at Hockenheim, with Brendon Leigh and Joni Tormala coming in second and third respectively.

Race eight – Marina Bay – saw McLaren Shadow’s Enzo Bonito take pole position, but it was Brendon Leigh who took the chequered flag, ahead of Williams Esport’s Alvaro Carreton, putting him 73 points ahead in the standings.

It was race nine at the Circuit of the Americas that sealed the deal, with Mercedes AMG-Petronas Esports’s Brendon Leigh and Daniel Bereznay taking first and second, and securing the driver’s championship and team championship.

Despite both championships being wrapped up, race 10 – a 50% race at Yas Marina – did not disappoint, and you can watch the entire race in full here:

After an incredible ten races, it’s Brendon Leigh who takes the 2018 F1® New Balance Esports Pro Series crown, and what a dominant performance throughout the entire series!

Check out our Moment from the final right here:

  • Share

About Jenny

Social Media Manager for the F1 games. Loves F1 and PC gaming far too much to be healthy.

View all posts by Jenny

You might also like